Caroline Horn

buy the cd

The World We Knew
Click a title to see lyrics. Click a speaker to listen.

1. Can't Keep Your Memory Down listen
2. Crooked Smile listen
3. Revolution listen
4. So Close Yet So Far
5. So They May Rise
6. Guardians
7. 28 Bittersweet Lane
8. Pink Lemonade listen
9. Bread and Water listen
10. Innocent
11. Canyon
12. Surfacing

Announcing the release of The World We Knew
A 12-song disc of catchy melodies, smart lyrics and gorgeous alto vocals, The World We Knew is infused with folk, pop, rock and roots music.

Imagine a radio set list with numbers by Mark Knopfler, James Taylor, Jane Siberry, and Shawn Colvin. These tunes would be right at home, nestled in between.

Caroline delivers a passionate collection of originals. The album opens with the lyrical "Can't Keep Your Memory Down," the sweetly longing love song "Crooked Smile," and the gripping "Revolution," which she calls her Thelma and Louise anthem.

Listeners may recognize the final cut, the dreamy and hopeful "Surfacing," which was heard on the HBO hit series Sex and the City.

Other highlights include the soft-rocking "Guardians," the lap-steel twanged and indelible "28 Bittersweet Lane," the beautiful "Canyon," (a powerful tune of loss), and the guitar and violin colors of the gently-grooving "Pink Lemonade."

How The World  Was Created
Three and a half years in the making, The World We Knew introduces the songs Caroline composed and crafted during a hiatus from performing.

She worked with two different producers on this project—Kerryn Tolhurst (guitarist for The Dingoes, Bruce Henderson) and Mark Epstein (bassist for Johnny Winter). Together, they came up with varied moods and grooves for the songs, featuring performances by a group of inspiring musicians, including:
  • Shawn Pelton (drummer for Saturday Night Live band, Shawn Colvin, Celine Dion)
  • Jeff Pevar (guitarist for Marc Cohn, David Crosby, Rickie Lee Jones)
  • Valerie Vigoda (violinist for Cyndi Lauper, Joe Jackson, and her own band, Groovelily)
  • Bashiri Johnson (percussionist for Miles Davis, Whitney Houston).

    The tracks were recorded in New York and Savannah, Georgia; mixing was done in New York and Adelaide, Australia, and the CD was mastered in Melbourne, Australia (where Tolhurst is from). Indeed, the credits tell a story about how this album found its way around the globe and back again.

    The time and the miles were both worth taking. The World We Knew is 50 minutes of pop beauty, edgy yearning and insightful reflection.

    -Dan Ouellette